How to Present Your Business Results, The Top Apps in April, and More!

Struggling to present results on a business level? Try this, most downloaded apps in april according to App Figures and the Future of creative ads.

January 3, 2024
 min read

Hello, App Baker! How are your apps growing this week? Not too slow, I hope ;)

As you might have noticed, Google recently blocked 1.43 million policy-violating apps from their store: they're using machine learning systems and app review processes to prevent policy-violating apps from being published. Last year, they also prevented 1.43 million policy-violating apps from being published on Google Play.

Were your apps affected by this? Google is specifically targeting apps that are "unnecessarily accessing sensitive permissions," so it might be a good idea to have a

Struggling to present results on a business level? Try this.

by: Rômulo Gomes, Founder CEO @ Easy App Reports

Do you want to present your business results but don't know how? The key is to understand something called "unit economics."

I struggled with this for a significant part of my career as well, but it's not so complicated. Here's the gist of it:

Basically, you need to understand how much value one unit sold generates for the business.

Let's take an example:

  • My app sells subscriptions for $7/month.
  • On average, my customers pay for 6 months (this is the average lifetime).
  • Therefore, each customer invests an average of $42 in that period (lifetime value).
  • I talked to my manager to understand the cost side of things and she told me each customer costs $1 in marginal costs
  • This means my profit is $6/month or $36 per user - before taxes and the store fee.

And why is all this important?

Because this is all crucial information that will allow you to understand if the initiaves you're running are actually healthy - or not.

Continuing the example:

  • I experimented with ads and invested $12,000, bringing in 1,200 subscribers.
  • The cost of acquiring each subscriber was $10. That's your CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost).
  • I expect these subscribers to stay for at least 4 months. So again, $6*6 months = $36, that's my expected return on investment.
  • So, in month 1, I spent $10 and got $6 in return.
  • So, in month 2, I get another $6 in return. That's $16 now, so we're in the profit zone! That's also our payback period, where we were able to fully recover the amount we spent.
  • Then on month 4, we'd have gained $36 where we spent $10 to acquire that customer.
  • Our return on ad spend, the ROAS, is 3.6 (meaning we received $3.6 for every dollar invested).

That's why it's important to understand one unit (unit) before being able to measure the performance of a channel as a whole. In our example, that was $1 of costs + $10 to acquire our customer.

With this framework in mind, you can play with the variables to measure the ROI of anything from paid media, to email marketing or even offline campaigns.

The most important thing here is that you show that you truly know how to transform effort (initiatives) into results (acquiring customers) at a decent value to cost ratio. But that's now only it: showing that you are able to run such calculations will make others (specifically stakeholders) confident that you know what you're doing. Also, if things go wrong, if you know your numbers, you should be able to steer things in the right direction!

As an entrepreneur and manager myself I see this as one of those fundamental skills of highly successful individual contributors. Master this, and your working life will become that much easier.

The Most Downloaded Apps in April according to App Figures

Now that April has ended, it's time to analyze the data and create a list of the most popular apps downloaded worldwide during the month. Surprisingly enough, this time TikTok wasn't on the top ofthe charts:

Check out the full article

What the future of creative ads looks like

The quality of mobile app ads has significantly improved over the past few years due to increased competition in the marketplace. Developers are now trying new approaches to creatives to acquire new users and boost downloads.

To assist developers with this, AppLovin's in-house creative team, SparkLabs, analysed data from over 200 mobile apps to identify concepts and strategies associated with top-performing creatives. They also forecasted likely trends in the mobile ad creative landscape for the coming year to help app teams make smart decisions and achieve better results from their creatives.

Read article from App Lovin now

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